pregnancy books – hits and misses part 2

Some new book reviews, continuing on from pregnancy books – hits and misses part 1.

Your Pregnancy Bible, various authors with Consulting Editor Dr Anne Deans DCH, MFFP, MRCGP, MRCOG

The title of this book says it all, and it isn’t exaggerating (much).  While there isn’t really anything in here that you can’t find online pretty easily, it’s so great to have it all condensed into one easy to manage book.

Your Pregnancy Bible is written by a team of experts and divided into manageable sections that cover everything from conception to healthy eating, why certain tests are prescribed, choices in childbirth, the birth experience and looking after a newborn.

There is also a great section, ‘Pregnancy for Dads’ which gives some good advice for dads if they’re feeling left out and want to be useful, their role in labour and how to cope with feeling faint in the delivery room (poor dad!).

I also like the quick reference section at the back which explains when to seek medical help when something unusual or scary happens either during pregnancy or with your newborn.

This book’s a beauty – I am yet to have a question that I can’t find an answer to within its pages (great for when I can’t be bothered logging on, or if connection’s down AGAIN and I need to know an answer now).

Borrow, buy or bury?  Buy

HappyBaby – The Organic Guide to Baby’s First 24 Months by Robert W. Sears, MD and Amy Marlow, MPH, RD

Hmmm.  This book is not for me.  It claims to offer a ‘proactive, harmonious approach to parenting that’s easier, greener, and just plain better for your precious infant or toddler’ but for me it’s one big guilt trip.

At one point the author discusses ‘green’ shopping bags (great, I’m all for them) then goes on to say if she has done the shopping and ready at the checkout and realises she has forgotten the bags, she will go back to the car and collect them.

Admirable, but really not the way I live and I just feel blameworthy reading about it.

That’s not to say there isn’t a lot of useful information contained within this volume but a great deal of it is hard to put into practice unless you possess a combination of extreme dedication, energy and will to ensure your baby is 100% organic.

Don’t get me wrong, I support green practices and buy local and organic whenever I can, there are just some days when everything goes wrong and the last thing I feel like doing after work is visiting three different shops for the ingredients to make pasta sauce from scratch.

Some will enjoy the highly prescriptive nature of this book, some will think it belongs in the compost bin. I fall somewhere in the middle but am too easily suggestible and susceptible to guilt trips to enjoy reading this book.

It’s probably worth noting that out of 18 reviews on amazon.com, it got 16 5-star ratings and two 4-star ratings (and nothing under that) – so it looks like I’m alone on this one.

Borrow, buy or bury? I hate to say it but for me it’s a bury.  Try it for yourself though!

3 Comments to “pregnancy books – hits and misses part 2”

  1. Coincidentally, I was just handed 5 books from a friend. Wondering ifHypo you’ve read any of them, and have any thoughts.
    1) Raising kids… without breaking the bank: The parent’s guide to money (Stella Tarakson)
    2) Your new baby (Dr. Miriam Stoppard)
    3) On becoming Baby Wise: Giving your infant the gift of nighttime sleep (Gary Ezzo, Robert Bucknam)
    4) HypnoBirthing (Marie F Mongan)
    5) The New Contented Little Baby Book (Gina Ford)

    • thanks Velle, you have some generous friends/family 🙂 I havent read any of these as yet but I know that both the Gina Ford and Miriam Stoppard books have a huge following so will try and get to it at some stage. Let me know how you go with any of them and if you recommend them (or not!)

  2. further to my earlier comment, there is a post on the Gina Ford book on Mama Mia (http://www.mamamia.com.au/weblog/2010/09/gina-ford-mothers-little-helper.html) – after reading this I’m pretty sure it would NOT be the book for me (I like instructions but not being made to feel guilty/bad for not following them) but it’s probably worth a read anyway

Leave a Reply

