what’s your essential, cant live without it, baby item?

Although I haven’t started shopping (yet) for baby or nursery items, I’ve been asking every mum I speak to what product they could live without. 

As yet, nothing’s stood out (apart from a baby bouncer which most agreed was a godsend).

BabyBjorn Babysitter Balance from Babies Galore

In fact, the answers I get are so different that I’m more in the dark than I ever was.

One major point of difference is baby baths, where people seem to be split into two definite camps:  waste of time, space and money (use the regular bath, sink, sponge bath etc) OR couldn’t live without out, back-saving device that is so much easier than the other options.

Another is a bassinet.  Both of my sisters swear by them saying their five babies (between them) went to sleep so much easier in a bassinet and they gave them so much more options for where to place the baby for optimum sleep.

Others say they’re a complete waste of money, the baby outgrows them too quickly, and it’s better to get them settled into a cot (or whatever) sooner rather than later.

One friend highly recommended a bumbo seat – another (who hadn’t tried it with her son but had seen them around) thought they were ridiculous.

A post a little while ago on Essential Baby had a LOT of responses, and hardly any of them were the same – although there were a few repeat mentions of baby wraps.

Has anyone out there got any must-have or must-avoid items? Or do you think it comes down to personal choice (and the temperament of the baby)?

5 Responses to “what’s your essential, cant live without it, baby item?”

  1. I loved my sling and wraps. We had a jumper, swing, bouncer etc never used them. I wore baby for pretty much everything – easy to nurse while wearing baby – and still get things done if you want to. Baby also rarely cries and tons of health benefits.

    Oh and for bathing – we used our popcorn bowl if we didn’t use the big tub with mommy or daddy in with baby. A kitchen sink is also nice – perfect height – just warm the sides up first, then fill with the proper temp water.

  2. Hello, i think that i saw you visited my web site so
    i got here to return the choose?.I’m attempting to in finding issues to improve my website!I guess its adequate to use some of your ideas!!

  3. My developer is trying to convince me to move to .net
    from PHP. I have alwways disliked the idea because of the costs.
    But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using WordPress
    on sveral websites for about a year and am concerned about switching to another platform.
    I have heard good things about blogengine.net. Is there a way I cann transfer all
    my wordpress posts into it? Any helkp would be really appreciated!

  4. A proper performing fan is a fan that hangs on a rod, so the performance of that fan is at its best.
    cor of previous centuries if that’s what you want to match the
    theme of the patio furniture. It has white glass together with a chrome finish for
    a fabulous sleek look. For most man caves, a toilet and sink is
    sufficient, but if you don’t have access to water or sewer lines,
    even this can be tricky. They are designed for
    installation in patios, verandas and gazebos.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

